The Chakras System Part 1

May 9, 2018


The common seven chakra system, the West has come to know is a very limited understanding of the subtle energy centers within the body. It is far different from the original tradition that first surfaced thousands of years ago. I am not saying the older teachings are better but I would like to clear up some misunderstandings we may have about this ancient teaching. 


Firstly, there is not just one chakra system, there are many. This theory of energy points in our bodies comes from the tradition of Tantrik Yoga and each school has its own different chakra system. There are the five-chakra systems, six-chakra systems, seven, night, ten twelve, twenty-one and more chakras. The seven chakra system is probably the one you are most familiar with. This system was established around the 15th century. You may wonder which system is the right one? Well, there is no easy answer to this question. In fact, it really isn't the question to ask since the chakra isn't a fixed point. It is an energy point and as with all energy, it is extremely fluid and we shouldn't expect it to behave like a solid object. However, within all the lineage teachings, there are a few energy points that are always present. They are the sexual center, heart and the crown, as these three places are where all humans experience their emotional and spiritual developments.    

Please reload

Featured Posts

What qualities should a spiritual worker have?

March 27, 2018

Please reload

Recent Posts

January 2, 2020

May 20, 2018

May 16, 2018

Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Soulful Om


444 S. Marengo Ave., Pasadena, CA 91101



  • Facebook
  • Instagram


©2018 by Soulful Om. Proudly created with